News / TV

Roseanne returns to ABC in its original timeslot, 8 p.m. Tuesdays, March 27, 2018

ABC is bringing Roseanne back for a new nine-episode season in its original timeslot where it reigned during the late 1980s — 8 p.m. Tuesdays — beginning March 27, 2018 with an hourlong revival.

The entire cast of the Conner family and friends returns from the hit show that aired from 1988 to 1997, with Sarah Chalke (who replaced the original Becky in 1993) appearing in a new role to be revealed.

Production is wrapping today in Studio City, Calif.

“You will feel the emotion from seeing that set again,” executive producer and 1992-93 showrunner Bruce Helford told EW. “It will be an extra-special experience.”

“The biggest challenge in the first episode was figuring out how to reestablish everybody and explain what they’ve been doing for the last 21 years,” says another Roseanne vet returning, co-executive producer Bruce Rasmussen.

So expect to see Roseanne Barr as Roseanne Conner, John Goodman as Dan Conner, Laurie Metcalf as Jackie Harris, Lecy Goranson as Becky Conner-Healy, Sara Gilbert as Darlene Conner, Michael Fishman as D.J. Conner, Emma Kenney as Harris Conner-Healy, Ames McNamara as Mark Conner-Healy, Johnny Galecki as David Healy, Jayden Rey as Mary Conner, Estelle Parsons as Beverly Harris, Sandra Bernhard as Nancy Bartlett, Natalie West as Crystal Anderson, James Pickens, Jr. as Chuck Mitchell, Adilah Barnes as Anne Marie Mitchell, and Chalke in that new mystery role.

Barr, Helford, Gilbert and Tom Werner are EPs alongside Tony Hernandez and Whitney Cummings.

And joining Cummings in the writers room for this epic revival are a killer crew of comedians: Wanda Sykes, Norm Macdonald and Morgan Murphy!


Sean L. McCarthy

Editor and publisher since 2007, when he was named New York's Funniest Reporter. Former newspaper reporter at the New York Daily News, Boston Herald and smaller dailies and community papers across America. Loves comedy so much he founded this site.

View all posts by Sean L. McCarthy →