Nominees for the 2008 ECNY Awards

The 2008 ECNY Awards have unveiled their final list of nominees this year, but so far, you'll only find out if you register your email and get a ballot sent to you for voting. You'll have until the end of the month to submit a ballot. The awards has an "Industry Committe" which also gets an enhanced voice in the voting. Which means I should probably disclose right now that I was happy to see The Comic's Comic get a nomination, and also let you know that I have an Industry Committee vote. That said, let's share with you the good news on this year's slate of nominees!

There are some interesting matchups and multiple nods here, including categories that feature repeat finalists, roommates vying for the same award, and in at least one case that I can gather, one performer up against themselves (kinda like Kate Winslet in the Golden Globes!). The full list, after the jump!

(Listed according to the ballot)
Best Female Standup Comedian
Claudia Cogan
Giulia Rozzi
Jackie Monahan
Michelle Buteau
Michelle Collins

Best Host
Eliza Skinner/Shockwave — The BEATdown
Max Silvestri and Gabe & Jenny — Big Terrific
Leo Allen — Whiplash
Sara Benincasa — Family Hour, Ultimate Gossip Girl Summit
Seth Herzog — Sweet

Best Improv Group
Death by Roo Roo

Best Male Standup Comedian
Hannibal Buress
Joe Mande
Kumail Nanjiani
Matt McCarthy
Pete Holmes

Best Musical Comedy Act (Solo or Group)
Adira Amram
Baby Wants Candy
I Eat Pandas
Reggie Watts
Shayna Ferm

Best One Person Show
Charlie Sanders, "Minnesota Muslim"
Chris Gethard, "Chris Gethard's Magic Box of Stories"
Kumail Nanjiani, "Unpronounceable"
Kurt Braunohler, "Kurt Braunohler's One Man Show: A Meditation on Dum Dum's and B-holes"
Lennon Parham, "She Tried to be Normal"

Best Short Comedic Film
BOF — "It's Just Business"
Eugene Cordero — "Green Screen"
Sara Benincasa and Diana Saez — "Governor Palin Vlogs"
Rob Lathan — "The Phelps Minute"
Elephant Larry — "Val Verde"

Best Sketch Comedy Group
Elephant Larry
Pangea 3000

Best Technician
Carol Hartsell
Jasper Ream
Jon Gutierrez
Pat Baer
Richard Jones

Best Variety Show
Big Terrific
The Dave Hill Explosion
High School Talent Show
The Rejection Show

Emerging Comic Award
Brooke Van Poppelen
Joselyn Hughes
Lennon Parham
Mark Normand
Sara Benincasa
Sean Patton

Outstanding Achievement in Flyer or Postcard Design

  • Anya Garrett — Jar Full of Roaches (Show)

  • Dyna Moe — Gavin Speiller Needs Your Approval (Show)

  • Keith Huang & Ariel Estrada — Kevin Allison's 'F*** Up' (Show)

  • Stefan Lawrence — Sketchfest NYC (Show)

  • Steve Dressler — High School Talent Show (Show)

Best Website

  • Carol Hartsell, Sean Crespo, Corey Pandolph — Drink at Work external link
  • Keith Huang — Improv is Good for You external link

  • Sean L. McCarthy — The Comic's Comic external link

  • Jake Hurwitz and Amir Blumenfeld — external link
  • Upright Citizens Brigade — external link
  • Charlie Todd — Improv Everywhere external link

Best Performance in a Commercial or Episode of Law & Order
Brett Gelman — NY Lottery (Little Bit O' Luck)
John Gemberling — Boost Mobile
Matt McCarthy –  Verizon
Matt Oberg — Ritz Crackers
Ptolemy Slocum — NY Lotto Commercial

Sean L. McCarthy

Editor and publisher since 2007, when he was named New York's Funniest Reporter. Former newspaper reporter at the New York Daily News, Boston Herald and smaller dailies and community papers across America. Loves comedy so much he founded this site.

View all posts by Sean L. McCarthy →