News / TV

Stand-up comedians who have won Emmy Awards

Comedians love credits, even more than barkers outside comedy clubs love misappropriating those credits.

Emmy-winning comedian ranks right up there near the top.

So congratulations to John Mulaney for his Emmy-winning stand-up special on Netflix, Kid Gorgeous at Radio City. Congrats, too, to Katt Williams and Tiffany Haddish, who not only picked up their first Emmys (for guest actor and guest actress in a comedy) but also squashed a mini-beef in the process at Monday’s televised ceremony.

For Mulaney, it’s actually his second Emmy. He previously won in 2011 for outstanding song and lyrics when he co-wrote Justin Timberlake’s Saturday Night Live monologue.

The number of stand-up comedians with their names on Emmy Awards remains rather small, considering the 70-year history of the ceremony by the Television Academy. Thanks to the online search function at the Primetime Emmys website, you can play along at home.

  • Louie Anderson: Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series (2016), Baskets
  • Judd Apatow: Writing variety series (1993), The Ben Stiller Show; also this year’s outstanding documentary for The Zen Diaries of Garry Shandling
  • Aziz Ansari: Writing for a Comedy Series (2016,2017), Master of None, shared with Alan Yang in 2016; Lena Waite in 2017
  • W. Kamau Bell: Unstructured Reality Program (2017,2018), United Shades of America
  • Louis C.K.: (6) 1 for The Chris Rock Show, 3 for writing his specials, 2 for writing for Louie
  • Dana Carvey: Performance in a Variety or Music Program (1993) SNL
  • Dave Chappelle: Guest Actor in a Comedy Series (2017) SNL, Variety Special Pre-Recorded (2018) Equanimity
  • Bill Cosby: Variety Comedy or Music Special (1969) The Bill Cosby Special on NBC; Actor in Drama for I Spy (1966-67-68)
  • David Cross: writing variety series (1993), The Ben Stiller Show
  • Billy Crystal: (7) 2 for hosting Oscars, 2 for co-writing Oscars, 1 for hosting Grammys, 2 for his 1990 HBO special Midnight Train to Moscow
  • Larry David: 2 for Seinfeld in 1993, writing and series
  • Ellen DeGeneres: Writing for Comedy Series (1997) Ellen
  • Kyle Dunnigan: Music and Lyrics (2015) for Inside Amy Schumer
  • Jimmy Fallon: Interactive media (2010 and 2015), guest actor (2012, 2014) SNL
  • Zach Galifianakis: 2 for Between Two Ferns, Special Class Short Format Live Action Entertainment Programs (2014 and 2015), with guests Obama and Brad Pitt
  • Brad Garrett: Supporting Actor in Comedy Series (2002,2003,2005) Everybody Loves Raymond
  • Donald Glover: acting and directing in comedy (2017) Atlanta
  • Whoopi Goldberg: (special Emmy for Comic Relief, and Daytime Emmys)
  • Dana Gould: Short Format Animated Program (2003, 2006) The Simpsons
  • Tiffany Haddish: Guest Actress in a Comedy (2018) SNL
  • The Arsenio Hall Show won two, but none for Hall specifically
  • Jessi Klein: Variety Sketch Series (2015) Inside Amy Schumer
  • John Leguizamo: Performance in Variety Program (1999) HBO Freak
  • Jay Leno: Hall of Fame (2014), Variety Series (1995) for The Tonight Show; short format nonfiction special class (2011) Jay Leno’s Garage
  • David Letterman: Variety Series (1994) for The Late Show, writing 84-87
  • Bill Maher: has 1 but as an EP for Vice on HBO (2014) informational series or special
  • Dennis Miller: has 5, all for variety series writing for his HBO series (which also bestowed Emmys on comedians who wrote for him, including David Feldman, Jeff Cesario, Rick Overton)
  • Dan Mintz: consulting producer on Veep (2017)
  • John Mulaney: Music and Lyrics for SNL song (2011) JT monologue; (2018) writing for a variety special Kid Gorgeous at Radio City
  • Bob Newhart: Guest Actor in a Comedy (2013) The Big Bang Theory
  • Rosie O’Donnell: (1999) variety special for the Tony Awards
  • John Oliver: Multiple Emmys writing for The Daily Show, then hosting and writing Last Week Tonight with John Oliver (and bestowing awards on his writers, including Kevin Avery, Josh Gondelman and Raquel D’Apice)
  • Patton Oswalt: writing variety special (2016) Talking for Clapping on Netflix
  • Richard Pryor: writing on variety series (1974) Lily on CBS
  • Chris Redd: original music and lyrics (2018) SNL “Come Back Barack”
  • Ray Romano: Comedy Acting (2002) series (2003, 2005) Everybody Loves Raymond (which also garnered an award for Mike Royce)
  • Don Rickles: Variety Program (2008) for his own HBO documentary, Mr. Warmth
  • Joan Rivers: Hall of Fame 2017 (posthumous)
  • Chris Rock: Variety writing and special, (1997) Bring the Pain; series 1999; 2009 writing for Kill the Messenger (and The Chris Rock Show also netted writing awards for Wanda Sykes and Jeff Stilson)
  • Sara Schaefer: Interactive Media (2010) for Late Night with Jimmy Fallon
  • Amy Schumer: Variety Sketch Series (2015)
  • Jerry Seinfeld: comedy series (1993)
  • Garry Shandling: comedy series writing (1998) for The Larry Sanders Show
  • Sarah Silverman: (2008) music and lyrics for Jimmy Kimmel Live‘s I’m Fucking Matt Damon; (2014) writing variety special for We Are Miracles
  • Red Skelton: (5) two in 52, one in 61, Governors Award 86, Hall of Fame 88
  • Jon Stewart: Multiple Emmys for The Daily Show (which also bestowed awards on Wyatt Cenac, Rory Albanese, John Oliver, Adam Lowitt, Paul Mecurio)
  • Katt Williams: Guest Actor (2018) for Atlanta
  • Robin Williams: (1987-1988) performer in variety for his performances in A Royal Gala on ABC, and A Carol Burnett Special, also on ABC
  • Jonathan Winters: Supporting Actor comedy (1991) Davis Rules

There are a few comedians who have won Emmys, but in the Daytime Emmys, notably for hosting game shows and/or talk shows.

They include:

  • Ben Bailey (2010-11,13) for Cash Cab
  • Steve Harvey (2014,17) for Family Feud
  • Craig Ferguson (2015,16) for Celebrity Name Game
  • Rosie O’Donnell (1997-2000,2001) for The Rosie O’Donnell Show
  • Ellen DeGeneres (2005-8) for Ellen
  • The View (Whoopi Goldberg, Joy Behar and Sherri Shepherd, 2009)
  • The Talk (Aisha Tyler, Sheryl Underwood) 2017
  • The Real (Loni Love) 2018

Sean L. McCarthy

Editor and publisher since 2007, when he was named New York's Funniest Reporter. Former newspaper reporter at the New York Daily News, Boston Herald and smaller dailies and community papers across America. Loves comedy so much he founded this site.

View all posts by Sean L. McCarthy →

One thought on “Stand-up comedians who have won Emmy Awards

  1. Chris Hardwick for @Midnight “Primetime Emmy Award for Outstanding Creative Achievement In Interactive Media – Social TV Experience ” , 2015, 2016

Comments are closed.