Today is the deadline to submit for the 11th annual Andy Kaufman Awards contest

Please, if you’re funny and you know it but nobody knows what to make of how funny you are, dear God in Heaven or wherever Andy Kaufman is today, I beg you to consider submitting your entry today for the 11th annual Andy Kaufman Award.

That’s because the entry deadline is today: Sept. 15, 2015.

Go to and follow the instructions.

Which means: Be original. Exhibit the spirit of Andy Kaufman. Prove your commitment to your act.

To be eligible, you’ll have to be at least 18 and a legal resident of the United States. Submit a video — maximum of six minutes — of yourself performing original material. The festival’s founders discourage profanity and vulgarity, and a panel of judges will rate the submissions based on originality, creativity, spirit and commitment, inviting about six contestants to compete in the live finals competition on Oct. 11, 2015, at the UCB East Theatre in New York City. Note: I was a judge last year.

“We are ecstatic about this year’s award show falling on the same day that Andy was a guest on the first broadcast of Saturday Night Live, exactly 40 years ago. It has been such a pleasure over the past decade to watch the new, unconventional comedians that my brother inspired, and this year I’m challenging the artists to take more risks and push the envelope even further, as Andy did.” says Michael Kaufman, Producer of The Andy Kaufman Award. “Andy was all about involving the audience in his performance, and he did that by eliciting a range of emotional responses, not just laughter.”

Kaufman’s father, Stanley, and his manager, George Shapiro, established the award to showcase comedians who refused to define themselves as conventional stand-ups.

The winner of the 2015 Andy Kaufman Award earns $2,500, a personalized trophy and exposure to a variety of industry professionals. Two Boots Pizza is supporting this year’s Andy Kaufman Award, and they are creating a special Andy Kaufman pie to commemorate the award show.

Past winners:

  • 2014: Dru Johnston
  • 2013: Harry Terjanian
  • 2012: Marcus Monroe
  • 2011: Nick Vatterott
  • 2010: Harrison Greenbaum
  • 2009: Blaine Kneece
  • 2007: Brent Weinbach
  • 2006: Reggie Watts
  • 2005: Kristen Schaal
  • 2004: Suzanne Whang

Sean L. McCarthy

Editor and publisher since 2007, when he was named New York's Funniest Reporter. Former newspaper reporter at the New York Daily News, Boston Herald and smaller dailies and community papers across America. Loves comedy so much he founded this site.

View all posts by Sean L. McCarthy →