Just For Laughs Awards for 2014 will honor Andy Samberg, Seth Rogen & Evan Goldberg, Bill Burr, Nathan Fielder and Michael Schur

The Just For Laughs Festival in Montreal has named Andy Samberg, Seth Rogen & Evan Goldberg, Michael Schur, Nathan Fielder and Bill Burr as its major award-winning honorees for 2014. Their individual honors:

  • Andy Samberg: Comedy Person of the Year
  • Seth Rogen & Evan Goldberg: Comedy Directors of the Year
  • Michael Schur: Comedy Writer of the Year
  • Nathan Fielder: Breakout Comedy Star of the Year
  • Bill Burr: Stand-Up Comedian of the Year

Samberg earlier this year won the Golden Globe for best comedy actor in FOX’s Brooklyn Nine-Nine. Past winners of the JFL Comedy Person were Amy Poehler, Chelsea Handler and Louis CK.

Rogen and Goldberg are being recognized pre-emptively for their directing work on The Interview, which comes out in October. A trailer was released last month for The Interview, starring Rogen with James Franco and Lizzy Caplan heading to North Korea.

Schur is co-creator on Samberg’s Brooklyn-Nine; the entire show will be part of a panel at JFL’s ComedyPro Conference on July 24.

Fielder, meanwhile, stars in Nathan For You, which just began its second season on Comedy Central.

And Burr, coming off the final season of Breaking Bad, also had a small role on the big screen last summer in The Heat. But it’s his stand-up that’s being recognized this year.

The conference also will recognize Bill Plympton’s Deep End as The Harold Greenberg Fund “Best Comedic Short Film.”

Pete Holmes will host The Just For Laughs Award Show on July 25 from the festival’s HQ in Montreal. A limited number of tickets to the Just For Laughs Awards Show are now on sale at www.hahaha.com.

Sean L. McCarthy

Editor and publisher since 2007, when he was named New York's Funniest Reporter. Former newspaper reporter at the New York Daily News, Boston Herald and smaller dailies and community papers across America. Loves comedy so much he founded this site.

View all posts by Sean L. McCarthy →