Comedy Central’s Key & Peele honored with The Peabody Award

Congrats to Keegan-Michael Key and Jordan Peele and the crew of Key & Peele for their latest honor, joining a prestigious shortlist of TV shows honored by The Peabody Awards.

The announcement was made this morning.

The Peabody Awards will be handed out May 19, 2014, in New York City, and the brief citation for Key & Peele on the site reads: “It’s like Abbott and Costello Meet Richard Pryor when the duo of Keegan-Michael Key and Jordan Peele fearlessly apply their mischievous minds and satirical savvy to racially aware sketches both broad and incisive.”

It’ll return for its fourth season on Comedy Central this fall.

Key and Peele also recently graced the cover of TIME magazine.

The Peabody Awards began in 1940 as a “Pulitzer Prize for Radio,” expanding in 1948 to TV, to cable TV in 1981, websites in 2003 and blogs in 2012 — recognizing all forms of electronic media. Winners have to be unanimously agreed to by a 16-member board of judges.

You can see all of this year’s Peabody winners here.

Past comedy winners since 2007 include 30 Rock, D.L. Hughley: The Endangered List, Entourage, Girls, Louie, Men of a Certain Age, Modern Family, Onion News Network, Parks and Recreation, Lorne Michaels, Portlandia, Saturday Night Live for its political satire of 2008, The Colbert Report (in 2007, again in 2011 specifically for its SuperPAC segments), The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson for its 2009 evening with Archbishop Desmond Tutu, The Moth Radio Hour, and Wait Wait…Don’t Tell Me!

Sean L. McCarthy

Editor and publisher since 2007, when he was named New York's Funniest Reporter. Former newspaper reporter at the New York Daily News, Boston Herald and smaller dailies and community papers across America. Loves comedy so much he founded this site.

View all posts by Sean L. McCarthy →