Update! Last Comic Standing 7: Top 7 will become Top 6, then Top 5, then a winner in a five-way vote

Breaking news?! Earlier, I thought you might want to know how the seventh season of NBC's Last Comic Standing would play out. Turns out NBC and the producers have modified and solidified those plans, and confirmed them to me this evening.

Right now, it's down to our Top 7: Mike DeStefano, Felipe Esparza, Rachel Feinstein, Tommy Johnagin, Myq Kaplan, Jonathan Thymius and Roy Wood Jr.

As host Craig Robinson implied at the end of Monday night's telecast, only one comic will be eliminated on the July 26 broadcast. The Top 6 will perform that day for your votes.

On Aug. 2, one more stand-up comedian will be eliminated on the broadcast, leaving the Top 5, who will be performing for your votes to decide the winner, who will be revealed Aug. 9, along with performances from special guests (perhaps including this year's judges, Andy Kindler, Natasha Leggero and Greg Giraldo) and extra hoopla.

That means that, just as in 2008, our winner will be determined in a five-way vote. Crazy, but nonetheless true. So make your votes count, American comedy fans!

Sean L. McCarthy

Editor and publisher since 2007, when he was named New York's Funniest Reporter. Former newspaper reporter at the New York Daily News, Boston Herald and smaller dailies and community papers across America. Loves comedy so much he founded this site.

View all posts by Sean L. McCarthy →