The 2008 Canadian Comedy Awards

Over the weekend in Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada’s The Comedy Network handed out the Canadian Comedy Awards, and the Beaver winners (yep, they call them thar comedy awards the Beavers!) were…

Pretty Funny Comic of the Year, large venue: Russell Peters
Pretty Funny Stand-Up, Male: Gerry Dee
Pretty Funny Stand-Up, Female: Nikki Payne
Pretty Funny Stand-Up, Newcomer: Peter Anthony

This is our neighbor to the north’s ninth time rewarding comedians with awards. Remember when the United States did this with the American Comedy Awards? In fact, some stand-up comedians still use these old honors in their main credits. It has been several years since the comedy business in the Lower 48 (a Palin reference here? really? c’mon now) attempted to honor its own so publicly. Should we do it again? Is there a quantifiable worth to saying one comedian stood out in 2008 as the best club comic, this performer as the best theater comic, that one (hey now! even timelier reference!) as the best comedian on TV or film? If so, then what is Comedy Central waiting for? Or should someone else take up the charge? And if I were to hand out awards at the end of the year, would I, could I, should I call them The ComComs?! The ComComComs? Discuss, please.

The rest of the 2008 Canadian Comedy Award winners listed after the jump.

Pretty Funny Comedic Play: Facebook of Revelations “The Second City”
Pretty Funny One Person Show: The Sean Schau
Pretty Funny Sketch Troupe: Canadian Content
Pretty Funny Improv Troupe: Show Stopping Number – The Improvised Musical
Pretty Funny Male Improviser: Dan Joffre
Pretty Funny Female Improviser: Aurora Browne
Pretty Funny TV Taped Live Performance: Gerry Dee
Pretty Funny Direction Special or Episode: Samir Rehem – Cock’d guns Episode #8
Pretty Funny Direction Series: Henry Sarwer–Foner, Rick Mercer Report
Pretty Funny Writing Special or Episode: This hour Has 22 Minutes Episode #3, Mark Critch, Gavin Crawford, Gary Pearson, Kyle Tingley, Jennifer Whalen, Albert Howell, Tim McAuliffe, Nathan Fielder, Geri Hall, Andre Bush, Dean Jenkinson.
Pretty Funny Writing Series: Jon Dore, Mark Forward, Steve Patterson
Pretty Funny Female TV Performance: Geri Hall
Pretty Funny Male TV Performance: Gavin Crawford
Pretty Funny Film Directing: Jason Reitman – Juno
Pretty Funny Film Writing: Seth Rogen – Superbad
Pretty Funny Female Actress of the Year: Ellen Page – Juno
Pretty Funny Male Actor of the Year: Michael Cera – Superbad
Pretty Funny Web Clip: Sure Lock: A True Poo story
Pretty Funny Radio Clip: Bad Santa – Q107
Pretty Funny Comic Person of the Year: Seth Rogen

Sean L. McCarthy

Editor and publisher since 2007, when he was named New York's Funniest Reporter. Former newspaper reporter at the New York Daily News, Boston Herald and smaller dailies and community papers across America. Loves comedy so much he founded this site.

View all posts by Sean L. McCarthy →

2 thoughts on “The 2008 Canadian Comedy Awards

  1. Comedy Central did them one year, after the NBC version was cancelled due to low numbers. They were called The Commies and they were the worst thing ever.

  2. I have compiled all videos of Russell Peters on one page so that you can enjoy without interruption. It’s really annoying when you have to go back and forth on you tube to watch all his videos non-stop. If you know what I mean.

Comments are closed.