Carolines Final Four: March Comedy Madness

Carolines plays host tonight to the Final Four in its 2008 edition of March Comedy Madness, in which 64 comedians compete but only one wins. Last year’s winner: Julian McCullough.

Last year’s runner-up, Rob O’Reilly (pictured), makes a return trip to the Final Four tonight, and shared some insight with us about the process and the particular peculiarities:

"This year it’s me versus Dan Hirshon on one side and Liz Miele vs.
Reese Waters on the other side. Interesting side note is that those two
are dating. Weirder side note is that so are me and Hirshon.

We do 5 minutes in the final 4 and 10 minutes if you make the finals."

The early rounds got judged by a laughometer (or laugh o’meter, or Laugh-O-Meter, depending upon your pronounciation preferences), while tonight’s semifinals and finals decide winners by audience ballot. The showdowns begin tonight at 9:30 p.m. at Carolines. Will the fact that O’Reilly and Miele recently both taped Live At Gotham give them a competitive advantage? You’ll just have to go and find out!

Sean L. McCarthy

Editor and publisher since 2007, when he was named New York's Funniest Reporter. Former newspaper reporter at the New York Daily News, Boston Herald and smaller dailies and community papers across America. Loves comedy so much he founded this site.

View all posts by Sean L. McCarthy →