ECNY Award nominees announced

This just in…The ECNY Awards are back this year, and they’ve announced their list of 2007 nominees. Winners to be announced Jan. 28, 2008, at a ceremony at Comix in NYC. It’s no longer just about recognizing emerging comedians, the EC in the ECNY.

From the press release: "The ECNY Awards reflect the best comedy in New York, and therefore the world," said ECNY producer Alex Goldberg. " We couldn’t be more proud of this list of nominees, and consider them all winners. Except for those who are going to lose."

Nominees were selected after three rounds of selection: a public nomination process; voting by a committee composed of industry professionals; and advisement from the ECNY panel. Nominees must have lived and performed in New York for the majority of the year ending Oct. 31. For further rules and regulations, please go to The ECNY Awards are produced by Alex Goldberg (Fearsome), Jon Friedman (The Rejection Show), Carol Hartsell (Drink at Work), Nate (The Apiary), and Alexander Zalben (SketchFest NYC).

And here are the nominees!

Best Host: Jackie Clarke and Julie Klausner (Obsessed @ The UCBT), Jon Friedman (The Rejection Show @ The UCBT), Seth Herzog (Sweet @ The Slipper Room), Margot Leitman and Giulia Rozzi (Stripped Stories @ Comix), Eugene Mirman and Michael Showalter (Tearing the Veil of Maya @ Union Hall)

Best Improv Group: Big Black Car, Death By Roo Roo, Fancy Dragon, I Eat Pandas, Reuben Williams

Best One Person Show: Ann Carr (There is Only One You), Mike Dobbins (A Stand-upish Set of Koo Koo), Nick Kroll (Fabrice Fabrice), Livia Scott (Goodnight O.J.) , Eliza Skinner (Eliza Skinner is Shameless)

Outstanding Achievement in Postcard or Flyer Design: Keith Huang & Matt Johnson (The Apple Sisters), Shayna Ferm (Fearsome: Gun Grease), Anya Garrett & Tim Owens (Stripped Stories), Scott Gursky (The Mantzoukas Brothers), Dyna Moe (The Longest Sketch Show Ever)

Best Technician: Pat Baer, Mo Fathelbab, Carol Hartsell, Richard Jones, Jasper Reams

Best Male Stand Up Comedian: Jordan Carlos , Pete Holmes, Julian McCullough, John Mulaney , Baron Vaughn

Best Female Stand Up Comedian: Claudia Cogan , Becky Donohue, Chelsea Peretti, Andrea Rosen, Kristen Schaal

Best Variety Show: At Night With Gabe and Jenny, Comic Book Club, Drink at Work, Get Psyched, The Greg Johnson and Larry Murphy Show

Best Sketch Comedy: Group Buffoons –, Derrick –, Drop Six –, Elephant Larry –, Harvard Sailing Team –

Best Musical Comedy Act: Adira Amram –, The Apple Sisters –, Cracked Out –, God’s Pottery –, Reggie Watts –

Best Short Comedic Film: Free NYC Rap" (Olde English), "Gabe and Max’s Internet Thing" (Gabriel Delahaye and Max Silvestri), "Little Michael Jackson and Me" (Dave Hill) , "Minesweeper" (Elephant Larry), "Welcome to Our House #2: Exuhcise" (Julie Klausner & Jackie Clarke)

Best Director: Kurt Braunohler (Penelope: Princess of Pets, Big Black Ballet, Police Procedures), Oren Brimer (Mad-Lib Answering Machine, Prices, News Team, Nickel Jar, The Mexican Dishwasher), Jackie Clarke (Get Psyched, Film Noir), Kimmy Gatewood (Kidnapped by Craigslist, Nerdcore Rising, Guy on the Subway Platform), Anthony King (Dumb Girls, The Concert for LaVert, House of Men)

Best Web Site/Original Comedic Content: Best Week Ever (Alex Blagg, Michelle Collins, Dan Hopper), CollegeHumor Originals (Sam Reich, Ricky Van Veen, Dan Gurewitch, Vincent Peone, Jen Dunlap, Jordan Hall, David Fishel), The Onion News Network, Rejected Jokes (Ben Schwartz), Adam Wade

Best Web Site/News or Commentary: The Apiary (Nate X), Brooklyn Vegan (Brooklyn Vegan, Klaus Kinski), Comedy Central Insider (Lindsay Robertson, Chris Principe), Dead Frog (Todd Jackson), Gothamist (Ben Kharakh)

Emerging Comic Award: Katina Corrao, Drop Six, Heather Fink , Joe Mande, John F. O’Donnell, Livia Scott

Sean L. McCarthy

Editor and publisher since 2007, when he was named New York's Funniest Reporter. Former newspaper reporter at the New York Daily News, Boston Herald and smaller dailies and community papers across America. Loves comedy so much he founded this site.

View all posts by Sean L. McCarthy →