Just For Laughs fetes Kevin Hart, Jim Jefferies, Hasan Minhaj, Amanda Seales, “Big Mouth” with 2019 awards

We’re only a week away from the comedy industry’s annual confab in Montreal for Just For Laughs, and JFL has announced which big stars the fest will fete the most with Comedy Awards.

This year’s recipients: Kevin Hart (Generation Award), Jim Jefferies (Stand-up Comedian of the Year), Hasan Minhaj (Breakout Comedy Star of the Year), Amanda Seales (Rising Comedy Star of the Year), and Nick Kroll, Andrew Goldberg, Mark Levin and Jennifer Flackett for Netflix’s Big Mouth (Comedy Writers of the Year).

Alonso Bodden will host the awards ceremony on July 26.

Presenting each of the awards (which usually adds to the fun with unique speeches and jokes):

For Stand-Up Comedian of the Year: Jim Jefferies, Jimmy Carr.

For Breakout Comedy Star of the Year: Hasan Minhaj, Trevor Noah.

For Rising Comedy Star of the Year: Amanda Seales, Chris Redd.

For the Comedy Writers of the Year, Jason Mantzoukas.

The full JFL 2019 conference schedule is here.

Check out everything at Just For Laughs Montreal, which already is in full effect, now through July 28, 2019.

Sean L. McCarthy

Editor and publisher since 2007, when he was named New York's Funniest Reporter. Former newspaper reporter at the New York Daily News, Boston Herald and smaller dailies and community papers across America. Loves comedy so much he founded this site.

View all posts by Sean L. McCarthy →