News / TV

StandUp NBC announces finalists for 2017 contest and talent holding deal

StandUp NBC, the annual nationwide search for comedic talent from more diverse backgrounds than purely white and male, has announced its finalists for the 2017 contest.

After regional searches in Philadelphia, Atlanta, San Francisco and Chicago, the following nine comedians will perform at the finals this coming Nov. 29 at the Hollywood Improv:

  • TuRae Gordon, Philadelphia
  • Tom Thakkar, Brooklyn
  • T. Murph, Chicago
  • Kiry Shabazz, Sacramento
  • Kabir Singh, Fremont, Calif.
  • Jourdain Fisher, New York City
  • Jess Saloman, New York City (via Canada)
  • Dewayne Perkins, Chicago
  • Abby Rosenquist, New York City

These finalists will be flown to Los Angeles to perform in front of a live audience of agents, casting directors, and television executives. Winner(s) will be offered a Talent Holding Deal with NBCUniversal.

Past winners include Dulce Sloan (now a correspondent on The Daily Show with Trevor Noah), JR De Guzman, Nick Guerra, Gina Brillon, Jon Laster, and Tone Bell.

Sean L. McCarthy

Editor and publisher since 2007, when he was named New York's Funniest Reporter. Former newspaper reporter at the New York Daily News, Boston Herald and smaller dailies and community papers across America. Loves comedy so much he founded this site.

View all posts by Sean L. McCarthy →