News / TV

The weekly late-night TV talk show writing staffs for Fall 2017

[et_pb_section admin_label=”section”]
[et_pb_row admin_label=”row”]
[et_pb_column type=”4_4″]
[et_pb_text admin_label=”Text”]
Two weeks ago, I rounded up all of the writing staffs working on America’s nightly late-night TV comedy talk shows. Say that three times fast! Easier said than trying to say all the names of the writers three times fast, I’ll tell you that much. At any rate. That proved interesting and useful enough that I circled back to capture the current writing staffs of our weekly late-night comedy programs as of Fall 2017.

Last Week with John Oliver (HBO, Sundays)

  • John Oliver
  • Tim Carvell
  • Josh Gondelman
  • Dan Gurewitch
  • Geoff Haggerty
  • Jeff Maurer
  • Ben Silva
  • Scott Sherman
  • Will Tracy
  • Jill Twiss
  • Seena Vali
  • Juli Weiner


The Jim Jefferies Show (Comedy Central, Tuesdays)

Head Writer

  • Jason Reich


  • Jim Jefferies
  • Subhah Agarwal
  • Kevin Avery
  • Curtis Cook
  • Lucas Kavner
  • Matt Kirshen
  • Chris McKinley
  • Bryan Olsen
  • Laura Willcox
  • JJ Whitehead
  • Scott Y. Zabielski


Full Frontal with Samantha Bee (TBS, Wednesdays)

  • Samantha Bee
  • Ashley Nicole Black
  • Pat Cassels
  • Eric Drysdale
  • Mathan Erhardt
  • Travon Free
  • Joe Grossman
  • Miles Kahn
  • Melinda Taub


The President Show (Comedy Central, Thursdays)

Head Writer

  • Emmy Blotnick


  • Emily Altman
  • Anthony Atamanuik
  • Mike Drucker
  • Peter Grosz
  • John Knefel
  • Alison Leiby
  • Christine Nangle
  • John Reynolds
  • Rae Sanni
  • Evan White


The Rundown with Robin Thede (BET, Thursdays)

  • Robin Thede
  • Wayne Stamps
  • Doug Abeles
  • Alex English
  • Ziwe Fumudoh
  • Janelle James
  • Lauren Ashley Smith
  • Cody Wilkins


The Chris Gethard Show (truTV, Thursdays)

  • J.D. Amato
  • Greg Dorris
  • Nicole Drespel
  • Ana Fabrega
  • Noah Forman
  • Chris Gethard
  • Robby Hoffman
  • Dru Johnston
  • Will Miles


I Love You, America (Hulu, Thursdays)

Head Writer

  • David Ferguson

Senior Writers

  • Sarah Silverman
  • Gavin Purcell
  • Kyle Dunnigan
  • John Haskell
  • Tim Kalpakis
  • Diona Reasonover
  • Chris “Romanski” Romano

Staff Writers

  • Glenn Boozan
  • Raj Desai
  • Jocelyn Richard

Consulting Writer

  • Dan Sterling


Chelsea (Netflix, Fridays)

Head Writers

  • Bryan Paulk
  • Mason Steinberg


  • Chelsea Handler
  • Sue Murphy
  • Gil Cunha
  • Brandy Finmark
  • Akilah Green
  • Agathe Panaretos
  • Michael Tiberi
  • Dean Ward
  • Jeff Wild
  • Michael Yarvitz



Real Time with Bill Maher (HBO, Fridays)

  • Adam Felber
  • Matt Gunn
  • Brian Jacobsmeyer
  • Jay Jaroch
  • Chris Kelly
  • Bob Oschack
  • Danny Vermont
  • Bill Maher
  • Billy Martin
  • Scott Carter


Saturday Night Live (NBC, Saturdays) (previously published here)


Sean L. McCarthy

Editor and publisher since 2007, when he was named New York's Funniest Reporter. Former newspaper reporter at the New York Daily News, Boston Herald and smaller dailies and community papers across America. Loves comedy so much he founded this site.

View all posts by Sean L. McCarthy →