truTV orders “Those Who Can’t” series from The Grawlix for 10-episode debut season

Those who can’t succeed on a newfangled streaming TV service should go back to the drawing board and try regular cable TV instead.

It worked like a charm for Denver-based comedy trio, The Grawlix, who just received a 10-episode series order from truTV for their sitcom, Those Who Can’t, which stars comedians Adam Cayton-Holland, Andrew Orvedahl and Ben Roy as high-school teachers in Denver.

“Well the cat is out of the bag: we’re making a TV show! Congrats Ben Roy and Andrew Orvedahl. Let’s do this thang!” Cayton-Holland exclaimed today.

Roy went even bigger with an all-caps declaration of celebration: “WE DID IT! BETTER GET CABLE, FOLKS! The Grawlix OFFICIALLY HAS A TV SHOW! WE WILL WRITE, PRODUCE, AND STAR IN THOSE WHO CAN’T, WHICH IS SET TO AIR IN EARLY 2016.”

The comedy trio was joined in the pilot by Maria Thayer as the school librarian, plus stand-ups Rory Scovel, Kyle Kinane and Kate Berlant.

“Those Who Can’t has exactly the kind of fresh, slightly off-kilter humor we’re looking for as we venture into the world of scripted comedy,” said Chris Linn, president and head of programming for truTV. “Adam, Andrew and Ben have created a terrifically funny show that’s a perfect fit for the new truTV and our target audience of young adult viewers.”

The sitcom pilot originally popped up a couple of years ago through the open Amazon Studios development process, but failed to receive an order then. truTV has steered itself directly into the comedy boom, picking up sketch series Friends of the People last year, and also ordering multiple scripted comedy pilots for this year, including ones from Shaquille O’Neal and from Adam Conover. The cable channel just the other day announced hiring longtime comedy manager Maureen Taran as its new talent chief, too.

Those Who Can’t will hail from Thank You, Brain! Productions and 3 Arts Entertainment. Cayton-Holland, Orvedahl, Roy; Tracey Baird and Krysia Plonka of Thank You, Brain! Productions; Michael Rotenberg and Josh Lieberman of 3 Arts are the listed executive producers. Angel Annussek and Rich Korson are executive producing for truTV.

Sean L. McCarthy

Editor and publisher since 2007, when he was named New York's Funniest Reporter. Former newspaper reporter at the New York Daily News, Boston Herald and smaller dailies and community papers across America. Loves comedy so much he founded this site.

View all posts by Sean L. McCarthy →