2009 MAC Award nominees

If you thought the ECNYs covered just one part of the New York comedy scene, then perhaps you'll be interested to know who just got nominated for the 2009 MAC Awards. MAC stands for the Manhattan Association of Cabarets & Clubs, which means they're missing a C and maybe an O. Anyhow. The awards will be handed out May 18. Here are this year's comedian nominees. Congrats and good luck!

Female Stand-Up
: Dena Blizzard, Michelle Buteau, Mary Dimino, Ophira Eisenberg, Maureen Langan

Male Stand-Up
: Wali Collins, Joe DeVito, Joe DeRosa, Kyle Grooms, Rick Younger

Major Male Stand-Up
: Mario Cantone, Jim Gaffigan, Greg Giraldo, Tom Papa, Louis Ramey

Major Female Stand-Up
: Susie Essman, Jackie Hoffman, Jessica Kirson, Lynne Koplitz

Improv Comedy Group
: Calgary Whalers, Chicago City Limits, Comedy Sportz

Musical Comedy Performer/Duo/Group
: Booth & Pat, Hedda Lettuce, Shawn Ryan

Sean L. McCarthy

Editor and publisher since 2007, when he was named New York's Funniest Reporter. Former newspaper reporter at the New York Daily News, Boston Herald and smaller dailies and community papers across America. Loves comedy so much he founded this site.

View all posts by Sean L. McCarthy →