2008 Seattle Comedy Competition: Prelims

The 29th annual edition of the Seattle Comedy Competition begins tonight with 16 comedians beginning a weeklong battle of preliminary stand-up contests across Washington state. Another group of 16 stand-ups will enter their preliminaries Nov. 11-16. Five from each prelim make it to a week of semifinal competition, with five finalists joking it out through Nov. 30. A total of $15,000 in prize money, with $5,000 to the winner, along with a record contract with Uproar Entertainment. The biggest past winner of Seattle’s contest: Mitch Hedberg in 1997. As in most every year since we figured out the Internet, you can get daily updates from the competition each morning on the contest site.

Your two prelim groups of stand-ups, after the jump!

PRELIMINARY WEEK ONE Wednesday, Nov. 5 to Monday, Nov. 10:
1)  Alysia Wood – Los Angeles, CA
2)  Fay Canale – Chicago, IL
3)  Geoff Brousseau – Seattle, WA
4)  Daniel Carroll – Seattle, WA
5)  Chris Gordon – Calgary, AB, Canada
6)  Tyler Hawkins – Edmonton AB, Canada
7)  Nate Jackson – Los Angeles, CA
8)  Emmett Montgomery – Seattle, WA
9)  Murv Seymour – Tampa, FL
10)  Morgan Preston – Bend OR
11)  Justin Rupple – Seattle, WA
12)  Will Weldon – Los Angeles, CA
13)  Kortney Shane Williams – Seattle, WA
14)  Richard Bain – Portland, OR
15) Ron Funches – Portland, OR
16) Brady Matthews – Los Angeles, CA

PRELIMINARY WEEK TWO Tuesday, Nov. 11 to Sunday, Nov. 16:
1)  Drew Barth – Seattle, WA
2)  Jake Dill – Los Angeles, CA
3)  Jay Harris – Chicago, IL
4)  Todd Johnson – Boise, ID
5)  Susan Jones – Seattle, WA
6)  Spencer King – Salt Lake City, UT
7)  Jon Lincoln – Boston, MA
8)  Todd Lynn – New York City, NY
9)  Andy Wood – Portland, OR
10)  Rich Ornelas – Los Angeles, CA
11)  Blaine Reeder – Seattle, WA
12)  Seth Perry – Vancouver, BC Canada
13)  Chris White – Washington, DC
14) Lars Callieou – Edmonton, AB Canada
15) Rylee Newton – Portland, OR
16) Tommy Savitt – LA, CA

Sean L. McCarthy

Editor and publisher since 2007, when he was named New York's Funniest Reporter. Former newspaper reporter at the New York Daily News, Boston Herald and smaller dailies and community papers across America. Loves comedy so much he founded this site.

View all posts by Sean L. McCarthy →