Day: October 19, 2010

Dear FOX: Please allow Will Arnett and Peter Serafinowicz to keep running wild on “Running Wilde”

Look. I get it. We all get it. Running Wilde is not Arrested Development. Even though both shows feature the same creator, two of its stars, a voiceover narration and a love for ridiculousness, they're not the same. They're not going to be the same. And we should all be OK with that. In fact, we should just let Mitch Hurwitz, Will Arnett, Peter Serafinowicz and company see where their crazy train is heading and follow their own titular advice. Run wild! After watching the first four episodes — which, if you haven't seen yet, you can do so at the show's site or on Running Wilde's Hulu page — you can see that whatever stretch you had to make to make sense of the pilot episode, there's something endearingly silly about where this series is heading. That is, if I even could tell you where it's heading. But it's worth finding out. I could go back decades to cite Seinfeld or Cheers as examples of shows that found their footing and then some, but even just going back to Parks and Recreation may do the trick. P&R started as a blind spin-off of The Office that attempted to spin its entire first season around a literal hole in the ground. Once they got that storyline out of the way, P&R soared in its second season by focusing on...

Read More

Watch Ian Roberts improvise with Conan O’Brien in the Conan TBS blimp

If you'd like even more out of your TBS promos of Conan O'Brien's upcoming talk show, Conan, and you'd also like to see something from behind the scenes, then you are doubly in luck! Because this clip shows you some fun improvised moments in the "blimp" between Conan and his pilot, UCB co-founder Ian Roberts, who is willing to go along with whatever suggestion Conan has. Improv! Roll the clip....

Read More

CBS signs Demetri Martin to a deal, because CBS = Comedians Be Scripting but not be getting TV series?

I know I'm supposed to be excited by the exclusive news that CBS has signed comedian Demetri Martin to a script deal, but who is going to be the person to tell Demetri that, in recent years, CBS also has supposedly been ready to grant TV shows to Louis CK, Mike Birbiglia, Rob Riggle, and Jason Jones and Samantha Bee? You remember all of those series from the past couple of years, right? Great shows! In fact, their recent track record makes you think CBS has sought out funny comedians and paid them money not to make TV shows on a rival network. Conspiracy! In that same period, CBS did turn a Twitter feed called @shitmydadsays into an actual TV series. And it bought two other very similar Twitter feed concepts. Keep your perspective,...

Read More

Congrats to all of the winners of the 11th annual Canadian Comedy Awards

If the key to comedy is timing, then what does it say about Canada that the CBC aired the Steve Martin Gala last night, just as the Canadian Comedy Awards were handing out their 11th annual trophies? At any rate, congratulations are in order for the following winners of CCAs last night (us Americans and other non-Canadians should recognize a few of the names, too!): Winner, TV Performance Ensemble: Less Than Kind Winner, Canadian Comedy Person of the Year: Irwin Barker  Winner, Film Performance Female: Kristin Booth – At Home by Myself… With You Winner, Film Performance Male: Jay Baruchel – The Trotsky  Winner, Male Stand-Up: Irwin Barker  Winner, Film Direction: Jacob Tierney – The Trotsky  Winner, TV Direction: Kenny Hotz – Kenny vs. Spenny  Winner, Sketch Troupe: The Imponderables  Winner, Film Writing: Jacob Tierney – The Trotsky  Winner, TV Writing: Mark McKinney – Less Than Kind  Winner, Female Stand-Up: Laurie Elliott  Chairman's Award: Harry Doupe  Dave Broadfoot Award: Irwin Barker Winner, Radio Program/Clip: Monotheism vs. Polytheism – The Debaters  Winner, Web Clip: Being Erica – Erica's Blog – The Phone Message  Winner, Improv Troupe: The Carnegie Hall Show  Winner, Comedic Play: 0% Down, 100% Screwed  Winner, One Person Show: Naughty Little Children  Winner, Male Improvisor: Sean Tabares Winner, Female Improvisor: Naomi Snieckus  Winner, Taped Live Performance: Jon Dore – Just For Laughs  Winner, Stand-Up Newcomer: Mark DeBonis  Winner,...

Read More


October 2010
« Sep   Nov »

Subscribe to Podcast