Day: May 19, 2009

Meet Bryson Turner, 2009 Funniest Person in Austin

I'm enjoying my time in Austin, Texas, and will have a full report for you soon enough. But first, here's a portion of a chat I had last night with Bryson Turner after he won the 24th annual Funniest Person in Austin contest. Each winner gets handed that cape and crown, and jokes aplenty were made about the condition of said cape and crown. Turner is a recent transplant to Austin's comedy scene — he's from the Pittsburgh area and formed his early stand-up start in D.C. Here, let him explain how he has settled in nicely enough in Austin, and why he chose the Texas capital to grow his career as a comedian (includes a few choice words): OK. So we won't bore you with more chitty-chat. Instead, enjoy some of Turner's comedy. The final sets from the FPIA contest aren't up yet, but here is his performance from an earlier round that covers pretty much the same ground (slightly...

Read More

NBC’s Thursday-night comedy dilemma

NBC announced its new fall 2009 (and spring 2010) schedules today at the network upfronts, and the one thing I still cannot help but wonder is how Jay Leno will handle his first several Thursday nights of one-hour broadcasts at 10 p.m. Eastern/Pacific (9 p.m. Central/Mountain) — knowing full well that the Saturday Night Live crew will be beating him to the punch with a half-hour of live topical jokes on their Weekend Update Thursday broadcasts at 8 p.m. Eastern/Pacific (7 p.m. Central/Mountain). Sounds like Leno should be the one with a segment called "Really!?!" instead of Seth...

Read More

Archives

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Subscribe to Podcast